Why Publish Everywhere?

All indie authors have this decision to make: either go into KDP Select, or publish everywhere. Obviously, as the curator of a web site called Indies Who Publish Everywhere, I chose the latter. If you’re an indie author debating which way to go, here’s my reasoning behind my choice.

My inner rebel has always distrusted Amazon’s exclusivity contract. Any time I feel as if someone is trying to talk me into something that seems to benefit them more than me, I get suspicious. Do I need a 70% royalty in countries where no one reads my books? No. But do I need to be able to sell to all readers, not just Kindle owners? Yes.

The other retailers let me sell a book at any price or offer it free, at any time, without having to give them a monopoly on my work, but Amazon only allows special promotions to authors who agree to a three-month contract of exclusivity. I can work around that. I don’t need to be in KDP Select to have free books or special sales. I just have to get Amazon to price-match the other stores.

An author must drop all the other retailers in be in Kindle Unlimited, where their books can be borrowed for lower royalties rather than sold, but Oyster and ScribD pay full royalties for books read through their unlimited subscriptions and don’t require exclusivity.

So far I’m happy with the choice to make my books widely available. Sometimes my Amazon sales exceed my sales on the other sites, but then I have months where most of my sales are elsewhere. As a reader I’m loyal to authors who choose to publish everywhere, and I suspect I’m not alone in this. I like my Nook and I like shopping through Barnes and Noble, and when indie authors make their books available on B&N I’m more likely to buy them.

Are you an indie author who publishes everywhere? I’m trying to grow this site to list more books. Go to https://everywhereindies.wordpress.com/guidelines-for-authors and get in touch.

Are you a reader who’d rather buy directly for your e-pub e-reader than use a Kindle app? Browse the listings by genre. (You may find some free books and some bargains.) Read the reviews in the blog archives. Discover a new indie who publishes everywhere.

Leave a Reply

